June 29th, 2011 became a landmark day in South Korea due to passage of an Animal Protection law. The bill’s provisions include:

The 5 freedoms

Freedom from thirst and hunger

Freedom from discomfort

Freedom from pain, injury, and disease

Freedom to express normal behavior

Freedom from fear and distress

A national animal welfare committee will be set up under the Ministry for Food, Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries (MIFAFF).

Learn more at http://www.careanimalrights.org